Best to be like water

I can’t sleep, which is nothing new. Not really anxious about surgery tomorrow morning; I feel at ease, but something inside me must feel the anticipation. So I thought I’d share something with the world.

The title of my blog comes from my favorite verse of the Tao Te Ching, one that I keep close to my heart.

Verse 8

Best to be like water,
Which benefits the ten thousand things,
And does not contend.
It pools where humans disdain to dwell,
Close to the Tao.

Live in a good place.
Keep your mind deep.
Treat others well.
Stand by your word.
Keep good order.
Do the right thing.
Work when its time.
Only do not contend,
And you will not go wrong.

Good words to live by.

A recent clip of a commencement address by David Foster Wallace shared by my friends Mike and Libby Gagne brought it to mind earlier today:

Although I try to keep these lessons close, it’s always good to have reminders.

Hope everybody is staying present, remembering to marvel at the beauty of life and staying silly.

About Tony

Lives in Austin, Texas and likes music, art, philosophy, and random stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

